Tag Archives: “attorney fees”

Firearm and Ammunition Preemption Needs YOUR Immediate Support!

Today, in an 8-3 vote, the Senate Local Government Committee passed an extremely important firearm and ammunition preemption bill – Senate Bill 5 – which in addition to reaffirming/strengthening preemption would also provide for attorney fees and costs, where a local government violates the preemption statute.  Senate Bill 5 will now go to the Senate floor for consideration.

We can pass preemption with a veto proof majority, but we need YOUR help! Please contact your state Senator and urge them to support Senate Bill 5!  Please take the time to email, fax or call your Senator and do not use form letters/requests, as they are generally ignored. Our Representatives know when an issue is so important to you that you take the time to personally and respectfully contact them.

Together, we can ensure that our rights under Article 1, Section 21 are not questioned!

3 Comments

Filed under Firearms Law, Pennsylvania Firearms Law

Call to Action – HB 1243 – Strengthening Preemption

I just received notice from Pennsylvania Representative Stephen Bloom that HB 1243, just passed its third consideration in the House by a vote of 143-54. There are only several days left to get this through the Senate and we’re going to need YOUR help!

Emails are insufficient. We’re being outnumbered by 3-1 in calls to Representatives and Senators. We need to change this.

Personal contact by phone calls and snail mail (faxes) are much more effective to get your message to our Senators and then NEED to hear from us.

The contact info for Senate Judiciary Committee is here.

Senator Stewart Greenleaf (R) chairman JC (717) 787-6599 sgreenleaf@pasen.gov
(note Greenleaf is up for re election in 2014 IF Greenleaf is your senator twist arm as required to run HB 1243)

Senator Joseph Scarnati (R) leader of senate – President Pro Tempore (717) 787-7084 everyone must call or fax Senator Scarnati
He is very supportive on Second Amendment issues…. he still needs to hear from US!
jscarnati@pasen.gov

Senator Gene Yaw (R) (717) 787-3280 gyaw@pasen.gov

Senator John Gordner (R) (717) 787-8928 jgordner@pasen.gov

Senator John Eichelberger (R) (717) 787-5490 jeichelberger@pasen.gov

Senator John Rafferty (R) (717) 787-1398 jrafferty@pasen.gov

Senator Randy Vulakovich (R) (717) 787-6538 rvulakovich@pasen.gov

Senator Richard Alloway (R) (717) 787-4651 alloway@pasen.gov

Senator Lisa Boscola (D) (717) 787-4236 boscola@pasenate.com

Senator Andrew Dinniman (D) (717) 787-5709 andy@pasenate.com

Senator Dominic Pileggi (R) (717) 787-4712 swings lots of weight in senate from holding past leadership position of senate dpileggi@pasen.gov

These below on JC probably will not listen unless they are your senators, expect them to vote against HB 1243.

Stress the Rule of Law.

Senator Michael Stack (D) (717) 787-9608 stack@pasenate.com

Senator Daylin Leach (D) (717) 787-5544 dleach@pasenate.com minority chair of JC – past ceasefirepa endorsed candidate going to probably be one of the most vocal against HB 1243 on committee

Senator Wayne Fontana (D) (717) 787-5300 fontana@pasenate.com up for re election in 2014 but has no opponent = no fear factor from voters

Senator Lawrence Farnese (D) (717) 787-5662 farnese@pasenate.com past ceasefirepa endorsed candidate

CALL and/or FAX senators especially Scarnati, Greenleaf, Pileggi (plus others listed) and ask them to pass HB 1243 without any amendments.

Also ask your senator to bug leadership to run HB 1243 as a clean bill

HB 1243 will take at least 3 days in senate for passage.

Getting HB 1243 passed is still do able, but it’s going to take everyone making the extra effort to get this passed in the short time left. Governor Corbett will sign this bill if placed on his desk!

Senator Scarnati as leader of the senate can add more session days IF its required and most importantly IF we make our voices loud enough!

We have the votes for passage in the senate is just a matter of making them feel the heat and making HB 1243 a priority for quick passage with such short session time left.

PLEASE do your part and get HB 1243 passed by the Senate as a clean bill.

Thanks to FOAC (Firearm Owners Against Crime) for the above information.

2 Comments

Filed under Firearms Law, Pennsylvania Firearms Law